The Overlook

oakwoodhallway

My apartment building scares the living hell out of me. It’s very old, located in my city’s historic district and has a creepy vibe in general at night. Used my Prime lens for this, but because I very rarely shoot at night or in low light, I’m not the best at gauging what the shutter speed should be at on my camera. The result here worked out in my favor, though: I was nervous taking this picture because this hallway is absolutely terrifying and I do my best to not look down it when heading to my unit. My shaky hand combined with the slow shutter gave a really cool effect while Photoshop’s RAW editor let me futz with clarity, saturation and hue to give the shot an otherworldly vibe. Total edit time? Three minutes — a new record.

Leave a Reply

