Jewel Runner

jewelrunner

This photo is pretty simple, but its inspiration is anything but. I don’t remember exactly where or when I first heard of Run the Jewels, but the hip-hop group has awoken a type of fandom that I really haven’t experienced since I was a teenager in high school. I’ve started devouring anything I can get my hands on that’s related to the group be it interviews and pro-shot concerts on YouTube, music from members El-P’s and Killer Mike’s solo catalogs and I’m even driving across the state at the end of next month to see them perform in Detroit on my birthday weekend. Despite all this, being a fan of theirs feels like almost being in a secret club.

I often work out in public and take my laptop to school with me every day and have yet for someone to come up and compliment the stickers. It’s a weird contrast to my online coworkers and people in my Twitter feed who talk about the group at a regular clip. Perhaps I’ve just built that reality for myself and Run the Jewels is bigger than I realize? That’s a good possibility. After all, the duo performed last week on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, on the episode where Steve Jobs was a guest. Run the Jewels’ last effort was named album of the year by Pitchfork and appeared on countless other year-end lists of accolades. I don’t listen to the radio so I don’t know if they’re getting any play there, but the group does have a weekly show on Apple Music’s Beats 1 station. So maybe it really is just me. Regardless, that isn’t going to change how I feel about them any time soon. Oh, and fuck the fuck-boys; I hope I said it politely.

Leave a Reply

