Happy Birthday

It’s my mom’s birthday today. She’s special to me for many, many reasons, but she’s also a hobbyist photographer and has been an artist her entire life — her work has been a direct inspiration to me. Our house was always filled with her paintings and projects, either hanging on the walls or sitting in frames on end tables. I’m incredibly fortunate to have had those sources of inspiration around me starting at a very young age.

Her Flickr stream is full of gorgeous macro flower shots (no, seriously), and what you see above is my attempt to emulate her. I didn’t bring my macro lens with me for this walk a few weeks ago and instead opted for my 35mm prime lens that’s my default. I like to travel light and without my gear bag, but maybe I should take some inspiration from my mom next time and bring more than one lens with me.

Happy birthday Mom; I love you.

daffy

Leave a Reply

