It Follows

Went digging through my external drive for photos I’ve flagged as keepers but haven’t published. This outside shot of Detroit’s abandoned Packard Plant really caught my eye and made me think of the day I spent spelunking the building with my very good friend and Grand Rapids Press reporter Garret Ellison. After spending more than a few hours traipsing around the building’s interior, we made our way back toward downtown to see Dave Chappelle.

I’m not sure how we wound up on this nearby side street, but peering through the barbwire fence, we were able to get a glimpse at just how big the desolate factory is.

Checking this out at full resolution, you’ll notice some nasty ISO noise going on here (ISO 400 @ 23mm, F5.0 and 1/200 shutter speed), but I’m not sure if that’s a result of the lens itself or me not having the controls set properly. I took this with my kit lens (it’s all I had at the time), and while a bunch of the shots turned out really, really well, I’d really like to go back now that I have a better handle on my camera and some new gear.

packard

 

Leave a Reply

